Trying out Snappr

[UPDATE: I created a Snappr count and tried again – we’ll see if this works…..]

So I encountered 2D bar codes last year, with faberNovel‘s digitick project.  I was on a recent trip to France, and there are 2D bar codes everywhere now – outside of the US that is (even Canada is full of them).  So it’s about time someone is doing something with them – well, someone other than us.

I’ve just heard about Snappr, and I’m trying it out.  Not entirely sure what to expect – Snappr uses barcodes purely for information embedding, as opposed to subscription serivces or mobile purchasing (at least, as far as I can tell).

But I’m going to test it out and see how it works with my camera phone.  I’ll take a photo of the code (on my laptop), send it to SNappr, and see what happens.  I’ll leave the results in my comments.  Go ahead and test it out yourself too!  (And as Snappr notes – be sure you have an unlimited data plan, or it’ll be expensive!)

Snappr code

Snappr code

3 Responses to “Trying out Snappr”


  1. 1 Philip September 30, 2008 at 9:42 am

    Hello,
    Your Code links to ‘http://smok’, which is not a real domain and so a scanning person could not get anywhere besides to a screen of Snappr, which tells them that the URL might not be valid.

    If you are linking websites, you should make sure that you put in correct urls.

    If you created this Code while you were logged in to Snappr.net you can easily change the Code to point to a correct address. If you didn’t create it while logged on, you might want to do so and start maintaining your Codes within your profile. Then you are also able to change the destination of your Code whenever you want to.

    Cheers and happy Coding!

  2. 2 gregoire October 1, 2008 at 5:41 am

    Hey Greg, I’ve got a tasty 2D code for you to try!
    Here it is: http://www.flickr.com/photos/musigny/2904826428
    Cheers 🙂

  3. 3 smokinggoat October 1, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    So I created an account this time, and I reconstructed the bar code. We’ll see what happens.

    Gregoire – yours was the original inspiration for getting me interested in 2D bar codes! 🙂


Comments are currently closed.




