An Empty Bottle is Full of Memories

[I can’t believe I made up that phrase in the title – but as far as I can tell, it doesn’t show up anywhere else on the web….]

Back to the Source

My wife Amanda Dates is a yoga teacher, and exactly one week ago my friend Russ and I were the “hired help” at a yoga / camping / terroir retreat that my wife had organized.  It was quite an event:

  • Camping at Slide Ranch in Marin
  • Yoga classes twice a day
  • Tours of farms and markets (Slide Ranch, Star Route Farms, Point Reyes Farmer’s Market, the PR Creamery, Drake’s Bay Oysters, and Green Gulch Farm and Zen Meditation Center)
  • Locally sourced food prepared on-site by Russ, including: home-made ravioli with cheese-chard stuffing; local soft-cooked scrambled eggs and Marin Sun Farm sausage for breakfast; Drake’s Bay oyster paella (and a portabella mushroom version for the vegetarians) – and of course tons of local cheese.

Needless to say, it was an amazing weekend given the locale, the spiritual focus and food.  And so last night Amanda and I prepared a simple meal (porcini quiche with pioppini mushrooms over the top) to celebrate not just a job well done, but a job fantastically done by our resident cook Russ King.  And with that meal, we popped open a bottle of Bourgogne Hautes Cotes de Nuits, something I had been introduced to by my friend and French synonym, Grégoire Japiot.

Haute Cotes de NuitSo as I look at the empty bottle of Bourgogne, I think not only of the days of yoga and farms and the nights around the candle-lit dinners sharing stories and singing songs; I also think of the field on the hill in Burgundy, where Grégoire and I had a glass of Aligoté amidst Hervé Roumier’s Haute Cotes de Bourgogne vines.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

Powered by ScribeFire.

3 Responses to “An Empty Bottle is Full of Memories”


  1. 1 Tim Greenwood November 28, 2008 at 8:44 am

    We are having a wine tasting club meeting tomorrow night and I am using your beautiful phrase “An empty bottle is full of memories” as our theme. Everyone is bringing a bottle that has memories for them – we will taste, drink, share and toast to good memories.

    Thanks for the beautiful Phrase.

    Tim Greenwood

  2. 2 smokinggoat November 28, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Wow, great! For me, the story of the wine – either its produciton, or your personal experience with it – are just as important as the beauty of the “in the moment” experience itself.

    There’s a small nudge at the back of my mind that this phrase is not originally my own, but in the meantime, I’ll take credit for it. 🙂

    Have fun!


  1. 1 Back to the Source - Yoga and Terroir is back! « Goat at Large Trackback on April 7, 2008 at 5:14 pm
Comments are currently closed.




