The perfect lunch

The other day, I took a lunch break and scrounged through the fridge (as I am wont to do) looking for sandwich makings.  It was a gorgeous day outside, and I knew I had the right ingredients for the perfect lunch:  sun, wine, sandwich, garden.

See, the sandwich was only part of the equation.  It consisted of:

  • Sliced whole grain bread
  • Mozzarella, thrown on one of the slices and slightly melted under a broiler.
  • Leftover king mushrooms (from the Ferry Plaza’s Far West Fungi), sautéed in butter and white wine.
  • Mustard, of course.

The wine was a German riesling (2004 Kalinda Hattenheimer Riesling Dry) that was not as dry as I thought it was going to be (it was American dry, not European dry), and I actually preferred it a day after it had been open.  And of course, since the mushrooms had been cooked with that very wine, it went together perfectly.

But the main reason this was the perfect lunch was beause I was able to sit in our beautiful garden in Oakland, with the heat radiating off the flagstones, and eat my damn good sandwich with a simple glass of wine, and not have a care in the world.

This experience is so much like many of my seminal food – and wine – experiences: it’s less about a particular fantastic meal or glass of wine itself, and so much more about the entire event.

powered by performancing firefox

2 Responses to “The perfect lunch”


  1. 1 Marie Heiland July 16, 2009 at 5:43 am

    It all sounds amazing, except for the mustard :). I prefer a flavored olive oil or balsamic over mustard any day.

  2. 2 Walker Phillips October 25, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Gotta admire a person who knows how to use (and spell) the word ‘wont’, and how to construct (and enjoy) a delicious lunch.

    – Walker


Comments are currently closed.




