Getting around Drupal’s Clean URLs

A friend of mine’s site was hosed (that grammatical construction is terrible, but moving on….) – her domain expired and we were trying to work on it while she got her domain back online.  We got the URL alias from her hosting company, but predictably could only get the front page – none of the links would work.  No problem – we edited the settings.php to change the base URL.  Except that didn’t solve the problem – we still got error messages.

I finally figured out that the culprit was the Clean URL setting – I could get to the various pages if I used the domain.com/?q=pagename format.  But I couldn’t log in with Clean URLS – it would boot me to a page that didn’t exist.  Until I found this clue buried in a Drual thread:

Put this line of code (anywhere) in your settings.php file:

$conf[‘clean_url’] = 0;

That fixed it – it actually disabled Clean URLs in the settings page.  (We just need to remember to remove this when we get our domain back).

Technorati Tags:

powered by performancing firefox

1 Response to “Getting around Drupal’s Clean URLs”


  1. 1 Matt December 7, 2008 at 5:51 pm

    I thank you sincerely for this. It’s 2am here and I couldn’t get to my site for 3 hours till I found your post.


Comments are currently closed.




