(Another) Drupal User Guide

[UPDATE:  This guide is considerably outdated.  For an excellent Beginner’s Guide to Drupal, check out the Drupal Cookbook.]

I gave a Drupal training a while back – to several nonprofit staffers who were about to migrate their sites to Drupal. As you can guess, the type of training required there is a lot different than the extensive Drupal training materials that exist for developers. I see a larger and larger need for this kind of documentation and training – folks who will want to tinker with their site, change settings and blocks and upload limits (for example) who will never want to read a line of PHP.

This Drupal User Guide training / documentation is developed for them – site users who want to tweak things, but don’t need to code. 🙂

Some notes on the attached document:

  • First, yes – apologies it’s in Micro$oft format (PowerPoint). I love open source, and I also like to get work done without having to wait for my computer to catch up – which has been the totality of my experience of OpenOffice on the Mac (aka NeoOffice). I love the product, but I jsut can’t work in it. In any case, I assume OpenOffice can open my doc.
  • I’m also attaching a PDF and text version of same.
  • Which leads me to this point – it is open licensed (Attribution Share-Alike 2.5). You can use it, modify it, make money off of it – just keep the same license, and add your name to the credits, keeping my name. 🙂
  • This document tries to ride the line between pure training presentation (which usually just vaguely serves to remind you what the person talked about) and actual documentation. I’ve tried to add useful comments in the notes sections – which, if you print it out with notes displayed makes for a nice quasi-book package.

Drupal User Guide – PDF

Drupal User Guide – PPT

Drupal User Guide – rich text (editable)

technorati tags:,

Blogged with Flock

4 Responses to “(Another) Drupal User Guide”


  1. 1 Chris June 20, 2007 at 11:17 am

    Thanks for taking the time to put these together, your guides seem very helpful

  2. 2 Ahmed June 28, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    Thantx for preparing and sharing this resources

  3. 3 ShujaatK September 13, 2009 at 2:44 am

    Thanks for preparing and sharing such wonder full quidlines.


  1. 1 Drupal User’s Guide - an update « Goat at Large Trackback on January 18, 2008 at 4:45 pm
Comments are currently closed.




