Random "winter lasagne”

We had a squash we needed to use.  At first I was trying to figure out how to make veggie gyoza (potstickers) with squash – then I quickly changed my mind to ravioli.  I had just come from the People’s Grocery fundraiser, where they served butternut squash ravioli, so I wanted to try it myself (I’m using a kobucha squash).

On our Xmas errands, we went to Genova’s in Temescal: since 1926, they’ve been a local Italian deli and “ravioli factory.”  Dunno about the latter – didn’t try any, cause I wanted to make my own.  But to no avail – I didn’t see any ravioli sheets available…  Instead, I got some supplies for a lasagne – I was going to find a way to get that squash into a pasta dish somehow (I almost walked out of there with a couple of bottles of lambrusco too….   One of the few places I’ve found that has a stock – however, lambrusco can be touch and go, and I fear it if it’s cheap stuff….)

So anyway, here I am, trying out a squash lasagne – Italian style.  That means I’m skipping the ricotta cheese (I’ve never liked it) and making a cream (bechamel) sauce to counterpoint the squash layer.  OK, so it’s not really Italian – our house never has milk, so I’m using soy milk for the “cream” sauce; and I’m mixing the squash in with some tomato sauce (the ubiquitous Italian “Pomi” carton from Parmalat) and slow-cooked onions, with thyme and nutmeg – both which complement sweet dishes well, and nutmeg is particularly good with dairy.  Thyme and nutmeg together?  Who knows….  I’l tell you in about an hour….

Update:  Wow – that worked, and how!  So much could have gone wrong.  The “plain” soy milk had sweetener added (why?  why?); I was making the lasagne in a “single serving” banana-bread sized dish, but the bechamel recipe I was following was for a full 9×13 pan; I was running short on cheese…  But boy did it turn out.  A hint of sweetness (a lot got “baked out”) – the creaminess I expect from a lasagne, with the crisp top.  That turned out a winner….

Blogged with Flock

4 Responses to “Random "winter lasagne””


  1. 1 lambruscofan January 8, 2007 at 10:00 am

    “lambrusco can be touch and go, and I fear it if it’s cheap stuff…”

    I love the stuff from Medici Ermete. Check it out. http://www.vinofrizzante.com

  2. 2 smokinggoat February 20, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    Well, I don’t know about Medici Ermete (of the website VinoFrizzante), but I have discovered that more and more places are now carrying lambrusco, including wine retailers I trust like K&L (in SF and Redwood City) and Vino (no apparent webite; four East Bay locations).

  3. 3 lambruscofan May 4, 2007 at 12:45 am

    I get that lambrusco at “The Jug Shop” (http://www.thejugshop.com) in SF.

  4. 4 Banana Bread Recipe June 7, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    LOL, i thought this was a banana bread recipe when I foud the post in Google 🙂 Well, lasagne is great too


Comments are currently closed.




