Tomatoes and basil

My wife is a genius. She planted a bunch of tomatoes, as well as a bunch of basil, in our garden. “Of course, they grow both do well in the same climate” – yeah, I guess it’s obvious in retrospect. I mean, that’s why the Italians (for example) discovered the great pairing in the first place. But then why isn’t everyone doing it?

tomato and basil saladWe’ve been eating heirloom tomatoes in simple balsamic vinegar, and throwing basil on just about everything – but we’ve made this TBM (m for mozzarella) salad many times now (caprese?). I used to hate tomatoes, but I can’t get enough of these – delicious.

Now I just need to convince my wife to plant a mozzarella tree.

UPDATE: Turns out, according to ayurvedic texts, raw tomatoes and raw basil are the worst thing for my wife and my body types- particularly if eaten at night.  So is raw fennel.  No more Mediterranean salads for us for dinner….

2 Responses to “Tomatoes and basil”


  1. 1 Brian July 13, 2009 at 7:36 am

    Tomatoes have to be one of the best foods around for taste and health. Good to see this dish included.


  1. 1 Fooding closer to the source « Goat at Large Trackback on May 10, 2007 at 12:12 am
Comments are currently closed.




