Dunkin Donuts – fair trade coffee?

Wow.  I grabbed a coffe from a Double D here in Chicago (in California, a) they don't have many locations, if any, and b) no one adds the milk and sugar for you, so this was a nice change of pace) – and I noticed a sign on the door as I left…..

Dunkin Donuts now only serves fair trade coffee.  Apparently, for those of us who care, but don't get out east much – they've been serving fair trade espresso since 2003.  But this seemed to indicate that all their coffee is now fair trade.

6 Responses to “Dunkin Donuts – fair trade coffee?”


  1. 1 Spike August 18, 2006 at 2:50 am

    I work at Dunkin Donuts and it made me real happy when I learned this… and being so god damned political I would have left if they weren’t. Which sparks a question, I haven’t noticed those fair trade signs anymore and was wandering if you knew if they were definetly still fair trade.

  2. 2 smokinggoat August 21, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    I have no idea. 😦 I don’t follow the fair trade market itself, I just notice it in the moment. It’s worth asking your employer and see what their answer is, right? But if you’re into coffee, and have even an inkling of social justice – perhaps you’ll make a leap from Dunkin’ to another type of work? 🙂

  3. 3 joe January 26, 2008 at 6:16 pm

    Here’s the twist. Espresso based drinks are not a very big seller at DD. Who the hell order cappuccinos from these guys anyway? Nobody!! This effort is a “cute” and “marketablely noble” but if DD were serious about making a difference, and helping poor coffee bean farmers, then they should only brew Fair Trade regular coffee ALL THE TIME TOO!!! Dont be fooled! DD profits come from brewing “regular coffee” and therefore it comes from the sweat and tears of the unrepresented and exploited international, underclass “slaves.” Sorry folks, DD can kiss off!!

  4. 4 Coffee Bean November 26, 2009 at 2:44 pm

    A lot of “coffee” shops are ike this. Most major stores only sell about 4% of thier total sales as fair trade.

  5. 5 JohnnyW December 14, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    I have become hooked to DD coffee over the past year. I used to drink that ….should I even say it…Starbucks coffee, but DD definitely has the best coffee going. I brew it at home and get a coffee from my local DD every day I travel to work.

  6. 6 Ryan March 11, 2011 at 11:57 am

    “Fair Trade” coffee is a gimmick pushed by the certifying organizations to raise money for themselves, much like a certified pre-owned car (you pay more for having someone look it over and say “all is ok here.” Just because something isn’t “certified” by an organization does not mean that the farmers are “slaves” as some of you have implied.

    Even if DD is not fair trade “certified” you are still helping coffee farmers by buying their coffee, which in turn drives up demand for coffee and allows coffee farmers to charge higher prices. And finally, if you drink only “fair trade” coffee you are in fact contributing to furthering the “poverty” of those coffee farmers who for whatever reason are not linked into the “fair trade” network.


Comments are currently closed.




