Drupal 5 to 6 (and clearing the cache in Drupal 5)

It’s been almost a year – kay, 10 months – since Drupal 6 came out.  I’m just now spending a bit of time upgrading a personal site, and there are at least 4 core modules for my site that are not available for Dr6.  And my guess is that they will not be available.  So now I have to figure out how to upgrade my functionality:

  • Media handling – mostly locally-hosted audio files
  • Media display – displaying a playable file that is related to the main node (the CCK Node Reference field will only display a link, and node a playable file – in Dr5, at least).

So, as is with many Drupal sites, a simple upgrade is now turning into a re-architecting.  This is hapening all around me with sites we are working on, and sites others are working on.  And we’re halfway (?) to Drupal 7 already.  So the other thing that is happening all around me is that developers are saying if they have a Dr5 site, they will wait until Dr7 to cme out before upgrading.  But now I’m a little worried – I want to add a couple of things to my site, but if I do, I want to make sure they are minimally in good shape for Dr6, so that they will live on in Dr7….

Clearing cache in Drupal 5:  On a side note, while I was cleaning up my personal site, I came across this simple cheat to clear the cache (very helpful if you, for example, change the location of your logo and favicon files, etc).  As mentioned in the notes, I removed the Drupal goto because it was causing an infinite loop.

2 Responses to “Drupal 5 to 6 (and clearing the cache in Drupal 5)”


  1. 1 Daphna Shezaf December 24, 2008 at 6:17 am

    If I understand correctly, upgrading directly to D7 will also be a problem, because as soon as D7 is out, D5 won’t be supported anymore (incl. security releases). Yet when core D7 is released, there will be virtually no D7 contrib module.

    I actually wrote about this issue here http://soybeans.wordpress.com/2008/10/24/concerns-about-drupal-release-cycle/.

  2. 2 CNA Jobs November 10, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    I just upgraded Drupal on one of my sites, and it was such a pain.


Comments are currently closed.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

